Databases are organized collections of computerized information or data such as periodical articles, books, graphics and multimedia that can be searched to retrieve information. Databases can be general or subject oriented with bibliographic citations, abstracts, and or full text. The sources indexed may be written by scholars, professionals or generalists.
Research databases that are retrieved on the World Wide Web are generally non-fee based, lack in-depth indexing, and do not index proprietary resources. Subscription or commercial databases are more refined with various types of indexing features, searching capabilities, and help guides.
Some helpful databases:
Extensive peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Covering all academic disciplines, it has millions of articles available in both PDF or HTML format. Video tutorial from Niche Academy.
YouTube Tutorial of how to search Academic One File.
Covers law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more.
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Subjects include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Search the most recent global news content in over 2,800 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, transcripts, video, and digital-first content in full-text format. The archives stretch back into the 1980s. Includes the Boston Globe, New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal and more!
A free research database that provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
Articles on Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.
Over 10 million articles, with full text titles cited in CINAHL this collection contains authoritative content for nursing professionals as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Pros and Cons of Current Issues
Click on the Document below for a handout on how to access these and additional databases from the Maine Digital Library Databases located in Canvas.
Access to Academic Search Complete and CINAHL - Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature can be accessed through CANVAS under Student, Library, and Learning Resources.
Academic Search Complete is an indexing program owned by EBSCO they are the leading provider of research databases, e-journals, magazine subscriptions, e-books, and discovery services to libraries of all kinds. Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more. This database contains 3,618 active, full-text, non-open-access journals and magazines
CINAHL Database is also owned by EBSCO. This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more. Take a few minutes to evaluate all that CINAHL Complete has to offer, and you will see why hundreds of thousands of nurses and allied health professionals rely on this essential resource. CINAHL Complete, users can access a comprehensive scope of content covering over 50 nursing specialties as well as allied health subjects including speech and language pathology, nutrition, physical therapy, and much more. This database contains 600 active full-text, non-open access journals indexed in CINAHL
Click on the Document below for a handout on how to access these and additional EBSCO Databases in Canvas.
Choose Register for Account and complete the form. To offer Maine residents home access to the Digital Maine Library! resources, vendor licensing agreements require identifying information. This information is NOT provided to any third parties. You will be asked for your first and last name, zip code, email, telephone number, and your type of library affiliation. Company name is optional. Be sure "State" is spelled out as Maine.
Username and password: Use your email address for ease of remembering or a username you prefer. Choose a password of 6 characters (either with letters and/or numbers) for your Maine Digital Library! password or use the randomly generated one offered you.
Confirmation email: You will receive an email message with your username and password. This comes automatically with the subject heading of Maine Digital Library New Registration".
Password Retrieval/Edit My Account: If you lose or forget your password, chose "Forgot your password?". You may change your personal information under "Edit My Account" once you are logged in.
MDL works best with more recent versions of web browsers (Internet Explorer, Firefox and Mac's Safari). Your browser must be set to accept cookies or you will not be able to access the databases.
Here is a pdf that will help you understand how to search the Academic OneFile Database